CPB Tuesday Seminar

Phantom Cliffs

CPB Tuesday Seminar Series:  SPRING QUARTER 2021

When:  Tuesdays, 4:10 - 5:30PM

Where:  Remote – Via Zoom – Instructions will be emailed each week to cpb@ucdavis.edu

PBG 290 – CRN 53717

Schedule as of May 18, 2021

Interested in presenting or have questions?  Please email smmann@ucdavis.edu.

 

MARCH 30, 2021:  GRANT KINSLER

Graduate Student, Petrov Lab, Stanford

Title:  Fitness variation across subtle environmental perturbations reveals local modularity and global pleiotropy of adaptation

Host:  Carl Veller, cveller@ucdavis.edu  

 

APRIL 6, 2021:  JOE McGIRR

Postdoc, Whitehead Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Using temporal genomic contrasts to understand slow population recovery in Pacific Herring following the Exxon Valdez oil spill

Host:  Andrew Whitehead, awhitehead@ucdavis.edu  

 

APRIL 13, 2021:  BRIAN DONOVAN

Research Scientist, BSCS Science Learning

Title:  Genomics Literacy Matters for Dismantling White Supremacy

Hosts:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu, and Pavitra Muralidhar, pmuralidhar@ucdavis.edu

 

APRIL 20, 2021:  MATT FORISTER

Professor, University of Nevada, Reno

Title:  Butterflies and climate change

Host:  Michael Turelli, mturelli@ucdavis.edu

 

APRIL 27, 2021:  Rubén Rellán-Álvarez

Professor, North Carolina State University

Title:  Teosinte introgression modulates phosphatidylcholine levels and induces early maize flowering time

Host:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra, rossibarra@ucdavis.edu     

 

MAY 4, 2021:  KELSEY LYBERGER – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Schreiber and Schoener Labs, UC Davis

Title:  Ecological and evolutionary feedbacks: insights from models and experiments

Hosts:  Sebastian Schreiber, sschreiber@ucdavis.edu, and Thomas Schoener, twschoener@ucdavis.edu   

 

MAY 11, 2021:  MELISSA KARDISH – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Stachowicz Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Disentangling the processes driving microbiome assembly on a marine plant using global surveys and local experiments 

Host:  Jay Stachowicz, jjstachowicz@ucdavis.edu

 

MAY 18, 2021:  CATHY RUSHWORTH

Postdoc, Ross-Ibarra Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The ecology and evolution of mate choice in flowering plants

Host:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra, rossibarra@ucdavis.edu     

 

MAY 25, 2021:  ERIN CALFEE – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Coop Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Hybridization and the invasion of novel niches

Host:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu

 

JUNE 1, 2021:  POOJA SINGH

Postdoc, University of Calgary

Title:  A transcriptional view of divergent and convergent ecological adaptations in cichlid fishes

Host:  Mitra Menon, mbmenon@ucdavis.edu

 

JUNE 8, 2021:  PHIL CROWLEY

Professor, University of Kentucky

Title:  Environmental Sex Determination: Implications for Declining Eel Populations

Host:  Andy Sih, asih@ucdavis.edu