CPB Tuesday Seminar

Phantom Cliffs

CPB Seminar Series:  SPRING QUARTER 2018

When: Tuesdays, 4:10 - 5:30PM
Where: 1022 Life Sciences Building (campus map)

PBG 290 – CRN 73387

 

Interested in presenting? Please contact gradcoordinator.

CPB Seminar Series Spring 2018

 

April 3, 2018 – Brendan Cornwell – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Grosberg Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The long and the short of it: Patterns of genetic structure in a marine symbiotic partnership

Host:  Rick Grosberg, rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu

 

April 10, 2018 – Greg Backus

Postdoctoral Scholar, Baskett Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Controversial conservation strategies in an uncertain future: modeling gene drives and managed relocation

Host:  Marissa Baskett, mlbaskett@ucdavis.edu

 

April 17, 2018 – Hannah Frank

Postdoctoral Fellow, Boyd Lab, Stanford University

Title:  Bat - infection interactions: Signals of evolution, ecology, immunity and deforestation

Host:  Nancy Chen, nanchen@ucdavis.edu

 

April 24, 2018 – Sonia Ghose

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Eisen Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The skin microbiome of Sierra Nevada yellow-legged frogs: population biology and its role in fungal infections and restoration efforts

Host:  Jonathan Eisen, jaeisen@ucdavis.edu

 

May 1, 2018 – Susan Harrison and Thomas Schoener

Professor, Department of Environmental Science & Policy; Professor, Department of Evolution and Ecology, UC Davis

Title:  Ecological and evolutionary effects of extreme climatic events

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu

 

May 8, 2018 – Marshall McMunn – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Yang Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Diel periodicity in ecological communities: data, theory, and hearsay

Host:  Louie Yang, lhyang@ucdavis.edu

 

May 15, 2018 – Kyle Christie – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Strauss Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Along the speciation continuum: evolution and ecology of reproductive isolation in California Jewelflowers

Host:  Sharon Strauss, systrauss@ucdavis.edu

 

May 22, 2018 – Kelsey Lyberger

Graduate Student, Sebastian Schreiber and Thomas Schoener Labs, UC Davis

Title:  Life history evolution through changes in prey density

Hosts:  Sebastian Schreiber, sschreiber@ucdavis.edu, and Thomas Schoener, twschoener@ucdavis.edu

 

May 29, 2018 – David Luecke – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Kopp Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Evolution of traits, genes, and development in Drosophila prolongata

Host:  Artyom Kopp, akopp@ucdavis.edu

 

June 5, 2018 – Kristin Lee – Exit Seminar

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Coop Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Detecting signatures of convergent adaptation in population genomic data

Host:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu

 

June 12, 2018 – Victoria Morgan

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Grosberg Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The Hitchhiker's Guide to Terrestriality: Exploring Life History Transitions in Land Crabs

Host:  Rick Grosberg, rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu

 

June 19, 2018 – Kathleen Ferris

CPB Postdoc, Johanna Schmitt, Graham Coop and Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra Labs, UC Davis

Title:  Local adaptation and phenotypic plasticity across elevational clines in Mimulus laciniatus

Host:  Johanna Schmitt, jschmitt@ucdavis.edu