CPB Tuesday Seminar

Phantom Cliffs

CPB Tuesday Seminar Series:  FALL QUARTER 2018

When: Tuesdays, 4:10 - 5:30PM
Where: 1022 Life Sciences Building (campus map)

PBG 290 – CRN 33940

(Schedule as of 11/13/18)

Interested in presenting? Please contact gradcoordinator.

 

September 25, 2018 – Sam Bogan

Graduate Student, Hoffman Lab, UC Santa Barbara

Title:  U-Turns and New Turns in the Cis/Trans Regulation of Molecular Chaperones During the Adaptive Radiation of Antarctic Fishes

Host:  Katherine Corn, kacorn@ucdavis.edu

 

October 2, 2018 – Easton White

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Hastings Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in an Increasingly Variable World

Host:  Alan Hastings, amhastings@ucdavis.edu  

 

October 9, 2018 – Rachael Bay

Assistant Professor, Department of Evolution and Ecology, UC Davis

Title:  Genomic Forecasting of Population Adaptation to Climate Change

Host:  Rick Grosberg, rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu

 

October 16, 2018 – Yige Luo

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Kopp Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The Origin of Sexual Dimorphism – From a Perspective of Fly Pheromones

Host:  Artyom Kopp, akopp@ucdavis.edu

 

October 23, 2018 – Ambika Kamath

Postdoc, Elias Lab, UC Berkeley

Title:  Three Windows into Behavioral Ecology: Examples from Lizards and Spiders

Host:  Didem Sarikaya, dpsarikaya@ucdavis.edu  

 

October 30, 2018 – Chhaya Werner

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Truman Young and Susan Harrison Labs, UC Davis

Title:  Regeneration of Woody Plants After Fire – Climate, Competition, Harshness, and Herbivory

Host:  Truman Young, tpyoung@ucdavis.edu, and Susan Harrison, spharrison@ucdavis.edu

 

November 6, 2018 – Caitlin McDonough

Graduate Student, Pitnick Lab, Syracuse University

Title:  Landscape of Gene Expression in the Drosophila Female Reproductive Tract

Host:  Didem Sarikaya, dpsarikaya@ucdavis.edu 

 

November 13, 2018 – Cancelled due to smoke/bad air quality in Davis

 

November 20, 2018 – Sivan Yair

Graduate Student, Population Biology Graduate Group, Coop Lab, UC Davis

Title:  From Sweeps to Complex Traits: Characterizing Neanderthal Introgression in Modern Humans

Host:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu

 

November 27, 2018 – Lauren Schiebelhut

Postdoc, Dawson Lab, UC Merced

Title:  Mass Mortalities in Marine Metapopulations

Host:  Matt Osmond, mmosmond@ucdavis.edu   

 

December 4, 2018 – No Seminar – PBGG/CPB Faculty Meeting

 

December 11, 2018 – No Seminar – PBGG/CPB Faculty Meeting