Graduate Student Affiliates

killifhish
Some east coast populations of killifish Fundulus heteroclitus have recently evolved dramatic tolerance to extreme levels of environmental pollution, and ongoing projects in the Whitehead lab are studying the genomic basis of this repeatedly evolved tolerance (photo credit A. Whitehead)

CPB Graduate Student Affiliates

Armstrong, Frances

Graduate Program : Population Biology 

Research Interest: Marine evolutionary ecology; particularly life history strategies and population connectivity of marine invertebrates.

Faculty Mentor: Rick Grosberg   Email: frarmstrong@ucdavis.edu

 

Atkisson, Curtis

Graduate Program : Anthropology

Research Interest: 

Faculty Mentor:Monique Borgerhoff-Mulder   Email: cjatkisson@ucdavis.edu

 

Blair, Logan

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics & Genomics

Research Interest: Origin and evolution of cis-regulatory sequences in Drosophila.

Faculty Mentor:  Artyom Kopp  Email: lkblair@ucdavis.edu

 

Brand, Philipp

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Evolutionary history and the patterns of selection of olfactory receptor genes of euglossine bees.

Faculty Mentor: Santiago Ramirez    Email: pbrand@ucdavis.edu

 

Brennan, Reid

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Genetic and physiological mechanisms of osmotic plasticity

Faculty Mentor:  Andrew Whitehead  Email: rsbrennan@ucdavis.edu

 

Buffalo, Vincent

Graduate Program :  Bioinformatics

Research Interest: 

Faculty Mentor: Graham Coop   Email: vsbuffalo@ucdavis.edu

 

Calfee, Erin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Genomic methods to answer questions about natural selection within hybrid zones, the evolution of reproductive isolation, and the role of admixture in natural systems.

Faculty Mentor: Graham Coop   Email: ecalfee@ucdavis.edu

 

Caplins, Serena

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: The genetic basis of different life histories through comparative transcriptomics/genomics and differential gene expression. Life histories are fascinating due to their influence over evolutionarily relevant processes, i.e., gene flow, effective population size, and fitness.

Faculty Mentor: Rick Grosberg   Email: sacaplins@ucdavis.edu

 

Charles, Grace

Graduate Program : Ecology 

Research Interest: Dynamics and drivers of savanna plant community ecology.

Faculty Mentor:  Truman Young  Email: gcharles@ucdavis.edu

 

Christie, Kyle

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Evolution of reproductive isolation in Streptanthus (Jewelflower);speciation, local adaptation, and spatial patterns of morphological and genetic variation.

Faculty Mentor:  Sharon Strauss  Email: kchristie@ucdavis.edu

 

Contino, Colin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Population genomics of Drosophila; genetics of adaptation, population genetics of sex-specific genes.

Faculty Mentor:  David Begun Email: cecontino@ucdavis.edu

 

Corn, Katherine

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Functional morphology and phylogenetics to understand fish performance and diversity, particularly the relationship between evolution of functional traits and lineage diversification.

Faculty Mentor:  Peter Wainwright  Email: kacorn@ucdavis.edu

 

Cornwell, Brendan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  The evolution of host/symbiont interactions in Cnidarians inhabiting the spatially and temporally variable marine intertidal zone. Specifically, the role that each organism plays in allowing the holobiont to persist across a range of environment conditions.

Faculty Mentor: Rick Grosberg   Email: bhcornwell@ucdavis.edu

 

Decker, Robin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Theoretical ecology; community and landscape ecology, climate change, effects of land-use change and applications in conservation biology.

Faculty Mentor:  Alan Hastings  Email: rrdecker@ucdavis.edu

 

Ehlman, Sean

Graduate Program : Animal Biology 

Research Interest: Behavioral responses to environmental change, most often human-induced environmental change.

Faculty Mentor:  Andy Sih  Email: smehlman@ucdavis.edu

 

Elwood, Elise

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Plant ecology; distribution and causes of spread or decline of invasive and rare species.

Faculty Mentor:  Jenny Gremer  Email: ecelwood@ucdavis.edu

 

Ettinger, Cassandra

Graduate Program :  Genetic

Research Interest: Plant-microbe interactions.

Faculty Mentor:  Jonathan Eisen  Email: clettinger@ucdavis.edu

 

Freedman, Micah

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Chemical ecology of plant-herbivore interactions, ecology and evolution of floral scent, coevolution, island biogeography.

Faculty Mentor:  Sharon Strauss  Email: mfreedman@ucdavis.edu

 

Friedman, Sarah

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Interested in using a combination of genetic and morphometric evidence to explore the mechanisms behind macroevolutionary processes witha particular focus on marine fish diversity.

Faculty Mentor: Peter Wainwright   Email: sfriedman@ucdavis.edu

 

Gao, Jiansi

Graduate Program : Population Biology

Research Interest: Statistical and computational phylogenetic interference with application to historical biogeography, lineage diversification and various other evolutionary processes.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Moore  Email: jsigao@ucdavis.edu

 

Ghose, Sonia

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: TBA

Faculty Mentor: Jonathan Eisen   Email: slghose@ucdavis.edu

 

Griesemer, Christopher

Graduate Program :  Ecology 

Research Interest: How population connectivity and historical demography inform current latitudinal range limits of intertidal invertebrates; related larval dispersal and microevolution in the sea with attention to consequences of climate change; marine invertebrate phylogenies as related to evolution of life history strategies.

Faculty Mentor:  Rick Grosberg   Email: cdgriesemer@ucdavis.edu

 

Guizar Amador, Maria Fernanda

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Interested in the evolution of secondary metabolism in plants, and how these metabolites may play a role in ecological interactions and plant evolution.

Faculty Mentor:  Santiago Ramirez  Email: mfguizar@ucdavis.edu

 

Hanna, Giovanni

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics & Genomics

Research Interest: Development and evolution of male (and perhaps also female) reproductive organs.

Faculty Mentor: Artyom Kopp   Email: ghanna@ucdavis.edu

 

Hudson, Asher

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Behavior, host-pathogen interactions, and conservation.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Johnson  Email: aihudson@ucdavis.edu

 

James, Marisano

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: The visual ecology of Strepsiptera, Arthropod vision. Physiology of vision. Vision in geral. Parasites. Evolution,including that of multicellularity.

Faculty Mentor: David Begun   Email: mjajames@ucdavis.edu

 

Karatayev, Vadim

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Dynamics of metacommunities in spatially and temporally variable environments, and how these communities are shaped by strongly dispersing species.

Faculty Mentor: Marissa Baskett  Email: vkaratayev@ucdavis.edu

 

Kardish, Melissa

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Host-associated microbial communities and their effects on ecological patterns and ecosystem functioning. Specifically using the bacterial communities associated with Zostera marina, eelgrass.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz   Email: mrkardish@ucdavis.edu

 

Kollars, Nicole

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Marine community and evolutionary ecology-particularly, plant-herbivore interactions.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz  Email: nmkollars@ucdavis.edu

 

LaForgia, Marina

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Seed banks, seed dormancy, coexistence under temporally variable environments, grassland management and restoration.

Faculty Mentor:  Susan Harrison  Email: mlaforgia@ucdavis.edu

 

Lee, Kristin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Population genomic theory and method development, methods to identify the mode of convergence from population genomic data

Faculty Mentor:  Graham Coop  Email: krmlee@ucdavis.edu

 

Longo, Sarah

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Patterns and processes underlying the diversity of fishes, including the construction and application of phylogenies.

Faculty Mentor: Peter Wainwright   Email: sjlongo@ucdavis.edu

 

Lopresti, Eric

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Relationships between plants, herbivores and higher trophic levels, as mediated by plant exudates.

Faculty Mentor: Rick Karban   Email: eflopresti@ucdavis.edu

 

Luecke, David

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Evolutionary modifications of organ growth control and cell type specification.

Faculty Mentor:  Artyom Kopp and Graham Coop  Email: dluecke@ucdavis.edu

 

Luo, Yige

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Sexual dimorphism, pheromone evolution and species diversification in Drosophila.

Faculty Mentor: Artyom Kopp   Email: ygeluo@ucdavis.edu

 

Lyberger, Kelsey

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Feedback loops between evolution and ecology; eco-evolutionary dynamics of Anolis lizards on Caribbean islands.

Faculty Mentor:  Thomas Schoener and Sebastian Schreiber  Email: klyberger@ucdavis.edu

 

May, Michael

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Method development for phylogenetic interference with applications historical processess.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Moore  Email: mrmay@ucdavis.edu

 

Mc Munn, Marshall

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Community ecology, temporal variation in the traits and abundance of organism on seasonal and diel scales.

Faculty Mentor: Louie Yang  Email: msmcmunn@ucdavis.edu

 

Miller, Jeffrey

Graduate Program :  Pharmacology and Toxicology

Research Interest: Current projects: Determining 1. the physiological and ecological consequences of exposure to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill using the genomic responses of Fundulus grandis gill tissue and 2. the mechanism of heritable, extreme pollution tolerance of Fundulus heteroclitus by comparing embryonic genome responses of exposure to mechanistically-related compounds

Faculty Mentor: Andrew Whitehead   Email: jthmiller@ucdavis.edu

 

Miller, Lauren

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Ecomorphology, adaptive radiations and convergent evolution by integrating molecular phylogenies, morphological data and fossil information.

Faculty Mentor:   Jay Stachowicz and Peter Wainwright Email: lkmiller@ucdavis.edu

 

Moore, Jacob

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Theoretical ecology applied to issues in conservation, specifically local and spatial scale oyster dynamics.

Faculty Mentor: Sebastian Schreiber   Email: jlmoor@ucdavis.edu

 

Morgan, Victoria

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Phylogenetics, connectivity, and the genetic basis of adaptation in marine invertebrates.

Faculty Mentor:  Rick Grosberg   Email: vmmorgan@ucdavis.edu

 

O'Brien, Anna

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Patterns of species interactions across environmental contexts. Specifically, the role climate adaptation between plants and root-associated microbes.

Faculty Mentor:  Sharon Strauss and Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra  Email: amobrien@ucdavis.edu

 

Patel, Swati

Graduate Program :  Applied Math

Research Interest: Mathematics, evolution and theoretical ecology. Models of eco-evolutionary dynamics.

Faculty Mentor: Sebastian Schreiber   Email: swpatel@ucdavis.edu

 

Payne, Eric

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Parasites - modification of behavior, diversity, interactions.

Faculty Mentor:  Andy Sih  Email: empayne@ucdavis.edu

 

Rhoades, Olvia

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Community ecology:How distinct measures of diversity influence complex species interactions and community structure.

Faculty Mentor:   Jay Stachowicz Email: okrhoades@ucdavis.edu

 

Robinson, Moria

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Direct and indirect effects of environmental heterogeneity on plant traits, herbivores, and natural enemies. Specifically, tritrophic ecological networks of woody shrubs, caterpillars, and parasitoids across a mosaic of serpentine and non-serpentine soils.

Faculty Mentor:  Sharon Strauss  Email: mrobinson@ucdavis.edu

 

Saleh, Nicholas

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Behavioral ecology, genetics, and chemical ecology of social insects and insect mating systems.

Faculty Mentor: Santiago Ramirez  Email: nsaleh@ucdavis.edu

 

Soltis, Nicole

Graduate Program :  Plant Biology

Research Interest: Quantitative genetics of the virulence of a common fungal pathogen on domesticated host plants and their wild relatives.

Faculty Mentor: Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra   Email: nesoltis@ucdavis.edu

 

Stitzer, Michelle

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Population genetics and evolutionary dynamics of transposable elements and their host genomes (primarily maize and teosinte).

Faculty Mentor:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra  Email: mcstitzer@ucdavis.edu

 

To, Anita

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics & Genomics

Research Interest: Population genetics and landscape genomics of conifer species.

Faculty Mentor: Charles Langley   Email: lato@ucdavis.edu

 

Vann, Laura

Graduate Program :  Genetics

Research Interest: Evolutionary genetics, with a focus on population and ecological genetics. Application of next-gen sequencing tools to non-model species and the use of genomic data to answer questions concerning local adaptation and evolution in non-model species.

Faculty Mentor:  Jonathan Eisen  Email: levann@ucdavis.edu

 

Vetr, Nikolai

Graduate Program :  Anthropology

Research Interest: Current research interests lie largely in the development and application of statistical phylogenetic methods to questions of morphological evolution in humans and close relatives.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Moore  Email: nlashinsky@ucdavis.edu

 

Werner, Chhaya

Graduate Program :  Population Biology 

Research Interest: Plant community ecology:patterns of regrowth after large disturbances, and how regeneration is shaped by competition and climate.

Faculty Mentor:  Truman Young and Susan Harrison  Email: cwerner@ucdavis.edu

 

Wexler, Judith

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Evolution of sexual differentiation pathways in insects.

Faculty Mentor:  Artyom Kopp  Email: jrwexler@ucdavis.edu

 

White, Easton

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Theoretical ecology and evolution applied to question in population dynamics, life history trait evolution, and conservation. I study beetles, pikas, sharks

Faculty Mentor: Alan Hastings   Email: eawhite@ucdavis.edu

 

Yair, Sivan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Interested in how hybridization and introgression play a role in adaptation and speciation. Plan to use statistical models to interpret patterns of genetic variation between individuals and populations to understand the evolutionary mechanisms taking place.

Faculty Mentor:  Graham Coop  Email: ssyair@ucdavis.edu

 

Zemenick, Ash

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Learn how pollinating and non-pollinating insects influence, and are influenced by, nectar microbe communities.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Rosenheim   Email: kazemenick@ucdavis.edu

 

 

Tags