Graduate Student Affiliates

Yellow Wildflowers

Aguinaga, Jonathan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Kate Laskowski   Email: jaguinaga@ucdavis.edu

 

Armstrong, Madison

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Human-induced environmental stressors impact adaptation of marine invertebrates through epigenetic and genetic change

Faculty Mentor:  Rachael Bay   Email: mlarmstrong@ucdavis.edu

 

Benson, Brooke

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Rachael Bay   Email: bebenson@ucdavis.edu

 

Blair, Logan

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics & Genomics

Research Interest: Origin and evolution of cis-regulatory sequences in Drosophila.

Faculty Mentor:  Artyom Kopp  Email: lkblair@ucdavis.edu

 

Buckner, Jack

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Marissa Baskett   Email: jhbuckner@ucdavis.edu

 

Calfee, Erin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Genomic methods to answer questions about natural selection within hybrid zones, the evolution of reproductive isolation, and the role of admixture in natural systems.

Faculty Mentor: Graham Coop   Email: ecalfee@ucdavis.edu

 

Clement, Dale

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Theoretical Ecology.  I am interested in eco-evolutionary community dynamics, particularly the role of evolution in community collapse.

Faculty Mentor:  Sebastian Schreiber  Email: dtclement@ucdavis.edu

 

Corn, Katherine

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Functional morphology and phylogenetics to understand fish performance and diversity, particularly the relationship between evolution of functional traits and lineage diversification.

Faculty Mentor:  Peter Wainwright  Email: kacorn@ucdavis.edu

 

Cryan, Elli

Graduate Program :  Plant Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Daniel Kliebenstein   Email: epscryan@ucdavis.edu

 

De La Pascua, Danielle

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Plant defense evolution; plant-herbivore interactions; local adaptation; speciation; phylogenetics; community ecology

Faculty Mentor:  Jennifer Gremer   Email: drdelapascua@ucdavis.edu

 

De Leon, Marina

Graduate Program :  Microbiology

Research Interest: Current research focuses on chytridiomycosis in amphibians.

Faculty Mentor:  Jonathan Eisen  Email: msdeleon@ucdavis.edu

 

Elwood, Elise

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Plant ecology; distribution and causes of spread or decline of invasive and rare species.

Faculty Mentor:  Jenny Gremer  Email: ecelwood@ucdavis.edu

 

Ettinger, Cassandra

Graduate Program :  Genetic

Research Interest: Plant-microbe interactions.

Faculty Mentor:  Jonathan Eisen  Email: clettinger@ucdavis.edu

 

Friedman, Sarah

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest: Interested in using a combination of genetic and morphometric evidence to explore the mechanisms behind macroevolutionary processes witha particular focus on marine fish diversity.

Faculty Mentor: Peter Wainwright   Email: sfriedman@ucdavis.edu

 

Gao, Jiansi

Graduate Program : Population Biology

Research Interest: Statistical and computational phylogenetic interference with application to historical biogeography, lineage diversification and various other evolutionary processes.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Moore  Email: jsigao@ucdavis.edu

 

Ghose, Sonia

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: TBA

Faculty Mentor: Jonathan Eisen   Email: slghose@ucdavis.edu

 

Groh, Jeffrey

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Population genetics, genomics, speciation and hybridization, recombination, species interactions.

Faculty Mentor:  Santiago Ramirez    Email: groh@ucdavis.edu

 

Gross, Collin

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Marine community ecology, particularly community assembly and functional diversity of seagrass invertebrates and their predators.

Faculty Mentor:   Jay Stachowicz Email: colgross@ucdavis.edu

 

Guizar Amador, Maria Fernanda

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Interested in the evolution of secondary metabolism in plants, and how these metabolites may play a role in ecological interactions and plant evolution.

Faculty Mentor:  Santiago Ramirez  Email: mfguizar@ucdavis.edu

 

Hayes, Tracie

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Louie Yang    Email:  tlhayes@ucdavis.edu

 

Hudson, Asher

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Behavior, host-pathogen interactions, and conservation.

Faculty Mentor:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra   Email: aihudson@ucdavis.edu

 

James, Marisano

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: The visual ecology of Strepsiptera, Arthropod vision. Physiology of vision. Vision in geral. Parasites. Evolution,including that of multicellularity.

Faculty Mentor: David Begun   Email: mjajames@ucdavis.edu

 

Johnson, Evan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Coexistence theory, stochastic population dynamics, and equation-free methods for studying simulation models.

Faculty Mentor:  Alan Hastings  Email: evcjohnson@ucdavis.edu

 

Kardish, Melissa

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Host-associated microbial communities and their effects on ecological patterns and ecosystem functioning. Specifically using the bacterial communities associated with Zostera marina, eelgrass.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz   Email: mrkardish@ucdavis.edu

 

Lashinsky, Nick

Graduate Program :  Anthropology

Research Interest: Current research interests lie largely in the development and application of statistical phylogenetic methods to questions of morphological evolution in humans and close relatives.

Faculty Mentor:  Brian Moore  Email: nlashinsky@ucdavis.edu

 

Liu, Jasen

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Santiago Ramirez    Email: jwuliu@ucdavis.edu

 

Longman, Emily

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Rocky intertidal community ecology; biogeography; local adaptation; species interactions; conservation.

Faculty Mentor:  Eric Sanford  Email: eklongman@ucdavis.edu

 

Luo, Yige

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Sexual dimorphism, pheromone evolution and species diversification in Drosophila.

Faculty Mentor: Artyom Kopp   Email: ygeluo@ucdavis.edu

 

Lyberger, Kelsey

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Feedback loops between evolution and ecology; eco-evolutionary dynamics of Anolis lizards on Caribbean islands.

Faculty Mentor:  Thomas Schoener and Sebastian Schreiber  Email: klyberger@ucdavis.edu

 

MacArthur-Waltz, Dylan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Plant-insect interactions, climate change, network ecology, and ecosystem services

Faculty Mentor:  Louie Yang    Email:  djmacarthur@ucdavis.edu

 

Majane, Alex

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics and Genomics

Research Interest: TBA

Faculty Mentor:  David Begun  Email: acmajane@ucdavis.edu

 

Monuki, Keira

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Local adaptation in marine invertebrates, specifically looking at the adaptive potential of populations in response to climate change.

Faculty Mentor:  Eric Sanford  Email: ksmonuki@ucdavis.edu

 

Morgan, Victoria

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Phylogenetics, connectivity, and the genetic basis of adaptation in marine invertebrates.

Faculty Mentor:  Rick Grosberg   Email: vmmorgan@ucdavis.edu

 

Murphy, Claire

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Marine community ecology, specifically understanding community assembly, coexistence, and connectivity of marine invertebrates

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz    Email: cemurphy@ucdavis.edu

 

Nagel, Anna

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Bruce Rannala     Email: aanagel@ucdavis.edu

 

Nelson, Hannah

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Marine ecology; particularly life history strategies and maintenance of diversity.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz  Email: hrnelson@ucdavis.edu

 

Nelson, Rebecca

Graduate Program :  Ecology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Daniel Kliebenstein   Email: ranelson@ucdavis.edu

 

Neylan, Isabelle

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Marine and behavioral ecology; potentially phenotypic and transgenerational plasticity.

Faculty Mentor: Jay Stachowicz  Email:  ipneylan@ucdavis.edu

 

Oyageshio, Oshiomah

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Host genetic risk factors for developing active TB infections in hunter gatherer groups of South Africa

Faculty Mentor:  Brenna Henn    Email: oyageshio@ucdavis.edu

 

Pepi, Adam

Graduate Program :  Entomology and Nematology

Research Interest: Current research interest is broadly in population and community ecology, especially as they are affected by global climate change.

Faculty Mentor:  Richard Karban  Email: aapepi@ucdavis.edu

 

Phillips, Alyssa

Graduate Program :  Plant Biology

Research Interest:  TBA

Faculty Mentor:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra   Email: arphillips@ucdavis.edu

 

Roberts, Alexus

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Functional morphology and biomechanics in fishes; specifically the evolution of systems and how this drives diversification among species.

Faculty Mentor: Peter Wainwright   Email: asroberts@ucdavis.edu

 

Satterfield, Darien

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Relationships among morphological diversity and behavioral ecology in fishes. Specifically, addressing the ways in which morphology limits technique in feeding, swimming, and other behaviors

Faculty Mentor:  Peter Wainwright   Email: pcwainwright@ucdavis.edu

 

Suglia, Elena

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest:  Plant responses to climate change, species interactions, community ecology, population genetics.

Faculty Mentor: Jenny Gremer   Email: esuglia@ucdavis.edu

 

To, Anita

Graduate Program :  Integrative Genetics & Genomics

Research Interest: Population genetics and landscape genomics of conifer species.

Faculty Mentor: Charles Langley   Email: lato@ucdavis.edu

 

Yair, Sivan

Graduate Program :  Population Biology

Research Interest: Interested in how hybridization and introgression play a role in adaptation and speciation. Plan to use statistical models to interpret patterns of genetic variation between individuals and populations to understand the evolutionary mechanisms taking place.

Faculty Mentor:  Graham Coop  Email: ssyair@ucdavis.edu

 

Zabinski, Karolina (Caroline)

Graduate Program : Population Biology

Research Interest:  Chemical ecology; host-microbe interactions; emerging marine diseases; climate change

Faculty Mentor:  Jay Stachowicz    Email: clzabinski@ucdavis.edu

 

 

Tags